S3Express: Amazon S3 Command Line Utility

Amazon S3 command line utility for Windows. Copy, query, backup multiple files to S3 using the Windows command line.

S3Express FAQ and Knowledge Base

Main Page > Browse Categories > How-To > How to move files to S3 (difference between -move and -localdelete)

How to move files to S3 (difference between -move and -localdelete)

*** Requires S3Express 1.5 or newer ***  Release History

S3Express can be used to move files to Amazon S3. Moving files means that local files are deleted after/only if they are successfully uploaded to S3. To do that, use the option -move of the put command. The -move option instructs S3Express to immediately delete local files after/only if they are successfully uploaded.


A slightly different capability is given by the option -localdelete:COND. This option instructs S3Express to delete local files if they:

- Are not selected to be uploaded (e.g. due to the option -onlydiff or -onlynewer).

- Have a corresponding matching file already on S3 with same path and name.

- Satisfy the condition COND. COND is a condition that follows the general condition rules.


By using the option -localdelete:COND, a more sophisticated move operation can be setup, because differently from the basic -move  option, -localdelete will:

- Delete local files after having verified they are already on S3, so local files are deleted in a successive run of S3Express, not immediately after they are uploaded like with the -move option.

- Delete local files according to a condition e.g. -localdelete:”age_days > 30” or -localdelete:”size_mb > 50” to delete local files selectively.

- Delete local files that are already on S3 even if these files were not uploaded by S3Express itself.


Note 1
: uploading has priority over -localdelete. During the execution of the put command, firstly files are selected for uploading and after that the remaining files are selected for local deletion if the option -localdelete is specified.

Note 2: If the condition COND is not specified, that is, only -localdelete is used, then all local files that have a corresponding matching file on S3 will be deleted, regardless of age, size, time, etc.



User Comments
Add Comment
There are no user comments for this topic.
Add Comment
Attachments
No attachments

Did this help you?
Yes No

Statistics
62% found this information useful

Other Options
Printable Version

Download
Download S3Express

S3Express Manual
 HTML   PDF

 A printable version of the entire FAQ and Knowledge Base is also available.
 For further queries, please contact us by e-mail at support@s3express.com